2016 Year In Review (It Sucked But I Read A Lot)

Linear time is meaningless, but in the spirit of keeping with tradition I’ve written up my book year in review. 2016 was a pretty much a unanimous choice for the “Worst Year in Recent Memory” award. Deaths of icons, civil rights violations, the election, and a lot of sports related L’s for my home state and alma mater. Frankly it all sucked. But one good thing came out of 2016 and that was my best reading year since 2013. (Oh I also graduated.) Here are some stats and fun facts about the books I read this year.

Books Read: 59/30

My goal this year was a lowball considering my dismal failure to meet my goal in 2015. Thanks to a considerable period of unemployment and way more free time than I’m used to, I was able to read at a pace I can be proud of. Granted I wasn’t reading the heaviest of materials, but I’m happy with the number of books I read this year.

Most Common Rating: 4 stars

“Good not great” seems to be the theme of my 2016 books. Looking back, I did only read a few really fantastic books this year. Sure, I enjoyed most of the books I was reading, but very few of them were really exceptional. Did I suddenly develop a terrible taste in books? Have my standards for amazing books gone up? Did 2016 just spread its mojo onto my reading list? The world may never know.

Total Pages Read: 16197

I’m pretty happy about this, especially since I read quite a few books on Kindle this year. I did read more short books than longer books, which is something I may try to remedy in 2017. But in reality, are long books really better than short books? Nah. But I did hit double figures this year when I didn’t last year, so I’m pretty happy with this year’s effort.

Longest Book Read: Labyrinth by Kate Mosse, 515 pages

I was not on top of my reviewing game this year and I didn’t manage to review this excellent book. Not only was this the longest book I read this year, but one of the best. As I mentioned before, this was definitely a year of shorter books. Labyrinth comes in as the shortest “longest book read” by a good 200 pages.

Favorite Book Read: A Time Traveler’s Guide to Elizabethan England by Ian Mortimer

This was a pretty difficult decision. All of the 5 star books I read this year were pretty evenly matched. I read some really great non-fiction and some really quality novels as well. Ultimately I had to ask myself what book would I want to read again and A Time Traveler’s Guide to Elizabethan England won out. Luckily I actually reviewed this book on the blog! You can read my review here. Honorable mentions include: Modern Romance by Aziz Ansari, Queen of Fashion: What Queen Antoinette Wore to the Revolution by Caroline Webber, King John by William Shakespeare, the aforementioned Labyrinth by Kate Mosse, and Committed: A Skeptic Makes Peace with Marriage by Elizabeth Gilbert.

Least Favorite Book Read: How to be a Woman by Caitlin Moran

This was a no-brainer. The sole 1 star book I read this year and generally just a garbage piece of non-fiction. I reviewed it here for your reading pleasure.

My reading goal for 2017? 50 books. I’m hoping 2017 will be a better year (my hopes are not high) and I can keep up with the reading pace I set in 2016.

Leave a Reply

