Book Store Haul: 7/11/15

Everybody has a bad habit. For some it might be biting their nails, for others it might be cocaine. I like to believe my bad habit falls in between the two of those. My bad habit is buying too many books at the used book store. I went in looking for books for my friend’s birthday, and came out with a bunch of books I have absolutely no more room for on my shelves.

016

I grabbed three additions to my small collection of paperback series, all of which I’m at different stages in reading. Gunpowder Green by Laura Childs, which I’ve already read, is the second in the Tea Shop Mystery series, which I appreciate just as much for the recipes included in the backs of the books as I do for the actual plots. Top Secret Twenty-One by Janet Evanovich should seem familiar to readers of this blog, as I’ve reviewed several of Evanovich’s books here before. I’ve only gotten through the fourteenth book in the series, but I own the first nineteen. I also got Peril in Paperback by Kate Carlisle, the sixth in the Bibliophile Mystery series. I’ve only read the first in the series, but I definitely plan to read the rest of them (them, and about 3500 books on my list.)

On the play front, I bought Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead by Tom Stoppard. I’ve wanted to read this play since I re-read Hamlet my senior year in high school and it was recommended to me by my teacher. Since a play is on my list for my reading challenge this year, I thought this would be a perfect opportunity.

I also bought a new journal! I finished my first ever journal early this year and I’m already almost halfway through my back up! My back up for my back up has been commandeered for my senior honors thesis, so I needed a new one. It took the better part of an afternoon, but I finally found a new back up. I’m very particular about my journals. The binding, pages and cover all have to be to my liking, and since most journals these days say something stupid like “not all who wander are lost” and “follow your dreams” it was a major struggle to find one that wouldn’t embarrass me in public. My new journal has an amazing Jane Austen quote on the cover: “Her own thoughts and reflections were habitually her best companions.” I was about to give up hope on finding a journal until this one jumped out at me. It’s perfect!

And now the crown jewel of my collection. Drum roll please… The Globe Illustrated Shakespeare: The Complete Works, Annotated! Why yes, I do already have Shakespeare’s complete works in an anthology. But this one is so PRETTY. It has PICTURES. And this edition is so incredibly stunning. And you know what else? It was only NINE DOLLARS. God bless used book stores! (Below are the authentic snapchats detailing the dramatic saga that lead up to me buying the book.)

012 015

PS: A very happy birthday to my mom today. I’m so lucky to have such a wonderful mother who not only encourages me as a fellow English major to follow my passions, but also feeds my habits and buys me books!

One thought on “Book Store Haul: 7/11/15

Leave a Reply

